Australian federal election 2019 Results, Updates, Live coverage, Newspoll

Filed in Noisemakers by on April 17, 2019

Australian federal election 2019 Results, Updates, Live coverage, Newspoll, The 2019 Australian federal election held on Saturday 18 May 2019 to elect members of the 46th Parliament of Australia. The election was called following the dissolution of the 45th Parliament as elected at the 2016 double dissolution federal election.

Australian federal election 2019 Results, Updates, Live coverage, Newspoll

Started date: 18 May 2019
Location: Australia

PREDICTION: Chance of winning Australian Federal Election

Labor Party: 76%
Liberal Party: 24%

Candidate information

Candidates for the 2019 federal election have been formally declared and ballot draws undertaken.



All candidates are now available:

2019 Australian federal election
Australian federal election 2019 Results
18 May 2019

All 151 seats in the House of Representatives
76 seats are needed for a majority
40 (of the 76) seats in the Senate

Opinion polls
Scott MorrisonBill Shorten
LeaderScott MorrisonBill Shorten
PartyLiberal/National coalitionLabor
Leader since24 August 201813 October 2013
Leader’s seatCook (NSW)Maribyrnong (Vic.)
Last election76 seats69 seats
Current seats74 seats69 seats
Seats neededIncrease 2Increase 7

Richard Di NataleBob Katter
LeaderRichard Di NataleBob Katter
PartyGreensKatter’s Australian
Leader since6 May 20153 June 2011
Leader’s seatSenator for VictoriaKennedy (Qld)
Last election1 seat1 seat
Current seats1 seat1 seat
Seats neededIncrease 75Increase 75

LeaderNo leader
PartyCentre Alliance
Last election1 seat
Current seats1 seat
Seats neededIncrease 75

2019 Australian federal election - Simple Results.svg

Electoral map to be contested

Incumbent Prime Minister
Scott Morrison
Liberal/National coalition

Australian federal election 2019 Results, Updates, Live coverage, Newspoll

Retiring members
Members of Parliament and Senators not to renominate for the 2019 election are as follows:

Gai Brodtmann MP (Canberra, ACT) – announced retirement 13 August 2018
Michael Danby MP (Melbourne Ports, Vic) – announced retirement 5 July 2018
Kate Ellis MP (Adelaide, SA) – announced retirement 9 March 2017
Emma Husar MP (Lindsay, NSW) – announced retirement 11 April 2019
Jenny Macklin MP (Jagajaga, Vic) – announced retirement 6 July 2018
Wayne Swan MP (Lilley, Qld) – announced retirement 10 February 2018
Senator Doug Cameron (NSW) – announced retirement 24 July 2016
Senator Claire Moore (Qld) – announced retirement 31 July 2018

Julie Bishop MP (Curtin, WA) – announced retirement 21 February 2019
Michael Keenan MP (Stirling, WA) – announced retirement 25 January 2019
Craig Laundy MP (Reid, NSW) – announced retirement 15 March 2019
Kelly O’Dwyer MP (Higgins, Vic) – announced retirement 19 January 2019
Christopher Pyne MP (Sturt, SA) – announced retirement 2 March 2019
Ann Sudmalis MP (Gilmore, NSW) – announced retirement 17 September 2018

Andrew Broad MP (Mallee, Vic) – announced retirement 18 December 2018
Luke Hartsuyker MP (Cowper, NSW) – announced retirement 8 August 2018
Senator John Williams (NSW) – announced retirement 31 May 2016

Liberal National
Steven Ciobo MP (Moncrieff, Qld) – announced retirement 1 March 2019
Jane Prentice MP (Ryan, Qld) – lost preselection 12 May 2018,[50] delivered valedictory 4 April 2019
Senator Barry O’Sullivan (Qld) – lost preselection 6 July 2018

Country Liberal
Senator Nigel Scullion (NT) – announced retirement 26 January 2019

Cathy McGowan MP (Indi, Vic) – announced retirement 14 January 2019
Senator Tim Storer (SA) – announced retirement 17 April 2019

Tags: , , , ,

About the Author ()

Comments are closed.